I’m So Glad I Live in a World Where There are Octobers

The autumn festivities are officially in full swing. November greeted us with surprisingly cold weather. I could actually see my breath outside last night! It’s been a nice change from the usual 80 degree afternoons.

I spent the entire month of October participating in Halloween-related activities. Between farmer’s markets, pumpkin patch excursions, costume making, autumn baking, and pumpkin decorating, I would say I have completed my fall checklist.

Halloween week was full of parties. Mariah turned 21 so she hosted a birthday + Halloween celebration. On the evening of Halloween, I co-hosted a “A Nightmare on Azeele Street” with my friend Alissa in South Tampa. What a spook-tacular night it was!

I debuted my Kate Middleton costume and was thrilled when everyone loved it. I was quite shocked at how many people didn’t actually know who Kate Middleton was. Most of the guys thought I was the Queen of England. Someone needs to brush them up on their pop culture!

Mariah celebrated her 21st birthday right before Halloween so another party was completely necessary! We spent a lovely evening with her family and friends while my brother whipped up some amazing food and I made my first “real” birthday cake for her. I’m really considering opening a bakery in my future after all the time I’ve spent baking this past month!

My proudest accomplishment of the month was winning 2nd place at the Idlewild annual pumpkin carving contest! I carved a Mockingjay from The Hunger Games and it was a huge hit. There were so many other amazing designs and I would have awarded first place to the Gangham Style pumpkin. So creative!

Leave a Reply

