Goodbye Summer, Hate To See You Go

I decided to soak up some Florida sunshine this past weekend and spend Sunday afternoon at the Don CeSar Hotel on St. Pete Beach. Some friends from college were staying at the hotel for the weekend so I joined them and we spent our afternoon laying on beach chairs, sipping frozen drinks, going for a dip in the pool at their villa, and watching a summer thunderstorm roll in. I forgot how gorgeous St. Pete Beach is. I felt like I was a million miles away on a tropical vacation. What a nice little weekend escape!

Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week has always been one of my favorite times of the year. I love seeing what the designers put on the runway for each season. Fashion’s Night Out is the official kick-off to the most fashionable week of the year. Every September, over 500 cities nationwide participate in this event. I met up with some girlfriends at International Plaza in Tampa for a night of dressing up, posing on the red carpet, and of course, shopping.

I took a weekend trip up to Gainesville to visit one of my best friends, Jamie. We had planned this trip over a month ago but in the meantime, her boyfriend Paul popped the question and she is now engaged! It was a wonderful weekend being able to celebrate with the happy couple.

We spent an afternoon at the Kanapaha Botanical Gardens which was full of colorful flowers, bamboo gardens, hundreds of fresh herbs, and a lakefront view. We continued our relaxing weekend with Gator football, dinner at my favorite tapas spot Emiliano’s, a stop at the mall for some fall shopping, lattes at Starbucks, and a whole lot of home cooked food.

I’m looking forward to heading to my mom’s hometown in Ohio for the weekend. I’ll be spending the first day of autumn with temperatures in the 40’s and if I’m lucky, some leaves changing colors. It really is the little things that make me the happiest.

Leave a Reply

