There is Nothing Like Fifth Avenue

I spent my final week in NYC packing boxes, selling furniture, and saying goodbye to some of my favorite places. The first night my mom arrived, we took the train over to Hoboken, New Jersey to meet some of my friends for “Pretty Little Liars” trivia night at a local bar. Beforehand, we decided to make a pit stop at Carlo’s Bake Shop from the TLC show “Cake Boss.” After waiting in line for an hour, we were finally granted access to the coveted pastry shop. It was a complete madhouse inside but we ended up with a box full of cannolis, cream puffs, and a mini red velvet cakes.

At trivia that night, we originally won first place until a few minutes later they announced there was a calculation error and we had actually won second place. I was just impressed with how many questions we got correct. Looks like we are true Pretty Little Liars fans. I even got a shout out on Twitter from the show’s producer Marlene King who congratulated us on our win!

Throughout the week, I was lucky enough to spend time with most of my close friends. I had dinner at Empanada Mama with Alyssa, lunch at Peanut Butter & Co in the West Village, strolled through Washington Square Park, had a soft serve cone at Mister Softee, visited the September 11 Memorial, indulged in mini cupcakes at Baked By Melissa, and spent Thursday night at Brother Jimmy’s and Bourbon Street.

On Saturday night, we bought tickets to see Jersey Boys on Broadway. I had heard amazing things about the show but my mom had been dying to see it so she could sing along to all of Frankie Valli’s hit songs. After the show, we did a traditional post-Broadway meal at the iconic Sardi’s which has been a popular NYC landmark for the past 90 years. In true New York fashion, we didn’t finish dining until the clock struck midnight.

It’s always hard to say goodbye to a place you’ve lived in for several years. I spent my last day on my favorite street in all of Manhattan, Fifth Avenue. After a morning brunch, we wandered from E 79th Street down towards The Plaza Hotel. We stopped at Ladurée for macarons, did some shopping in Henri Bendel’s, and strolled along Central Park. With an arm full of shopping bags and the rain pouring down, we decided to call it a day. After a few hours of relaxing, we met Lauren at Shake Shack in Madison Square for my “last supper.”

I said goodbye to the apartment I had spent the last two years in. As bittersweet as it was to leave, I didn’t feel very sad cause I knew I was returning to the land of large closets, central AC, and full size kitchens. Mom and I spent many hours in the Delta Lounge at Laguardia Airport since the Florida thunderstorms delayed our flight 3 hours. I can’t complain since the lounge provides you with an open bar and free food. After a quick stop at Chick-Fil-A in Tampa, I was happy to finally be home.

My favorite blogger Emily Schuman of “Cupcakes and Cashmere” even sent me a welcome home tweet! What a great way to spend my first hour back in Florida.

Leave a Reply

