City of Blinding Lights {Part 5}

As I conclude Part 5 of my NYC favorite things series, I have taken the time to look back and realize what an amazing two years it has been. For my final entry, I’ve put together my five best memories of living in The Big Apple.

 Five Best NYC Moments

1. Lady Gaga MTV Interview / Central Park Concert – I’m a huge Lady Gaga fan so living in NYC was the perfect opportunity to experience everything Gaga related. I was selected by MTV (twice) to take part in special on-air features about Gaga’s “Little Monsters.” The first interview, I dressed up in Gaga’s red lace VMA’s dress and was interviewed by her close friend and famed producer Davi Russo. Immediately after this interview, I ran over to Central Park and stood in line for 8 hours to see Gaga perform for the Good Morning America Summer Concert Series. The second interview I participated in was in the old TRL studio over Times Square. I was a part of the video release for “You & I” and Gaga herself was there for this one! I feel so lucky to have been included in these events.

2. The Hamptons – Although I adore the city, there is nothing quite like escaping to the Hamptons. Christen took me to East Hampton to stay at her family’s house for the weekend. Everything from the picturesque vineyards to the beautiful pool in the backyard to celebrities’ mansions lining the beaches was just surreal. I have never felt more glamorous and this is one of my best memories of living up north.

3. Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade / Fourth of July Fireworks – Ever since I was a kid, I would wake up early on Thanksgiving morning to watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade with my brother. I never imagined that one day I would be front row for the action. With the massive floats passing us on the street, it felt almost as if we were in a dream. This past Fourth of July, I was lucky to be a part of the Macy’s “Ignite the Night” fireworks spectacular. Not only did we see four sets of fireworks blast off over the water but we also got to be a part of the NBC live telecast with Regis Philbin.

4. Jay-Z’s 40/40 Club Opening – I was invited to attend this exclusive celebrity-filled party. From the amazing hor d’oeuvres to the open champagne bar, everything about this party made me feel a part of the A-List. We were rubbing shoulders with Jay-Z, Russel Simmons, and Ashanti. I had such an great time dressing up and getting the red carpet treatment with my girlfriends.

5. Fashion’s Night Out – Every September, to kick off Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week, NYC hosts Fashion’s Night Out. Over 250 stores from Fifth Avenue to Soho all extend their store hours and kick off the fashion filled week with goodie bags for their guests, open bars, DJ’s spinning, and in-store celebrity appearances. At my first Fashion’s Night Out, I was able to catch a glimpse of Rachel Zoe at Piperlime in Soho. I also ran into Chanel Creative Director and Style Icon Karl Lagerfeld. Last year, Leighton Meester was putting on a small concert inside of Tiffany & Co. on Fifth Ave. We spent the evening indulging in chocolates, champagne, and diamond-encrusted desserts. This event is hosted in many cities worldwide so even if you don’t live in NYC, you can still be a part of the action!

As I depart NYC today, I am so incredibly thankful to every single person I have met over the last two years. Without each and every one of you, my experience would not have been the same. I will never forget the time I spent in this unbelievable city and I look forward to what’s ahead for me.

“How lucky I am to have something that makes saying goodbye so hard.”

Farewell New York City, see you again very soon.

Leave a Reply

