Goodbye to You

I’ve spent the last week cramming in as many fun activities as possible. I have finally checked off everything on my “NYC Bucket List” and feel like my time here is almost complete. I had brunch last weekend with three of my best girlfriends Alyssa, Lauren, and Christen at a gorgeous place in Chelsea called The Park. You felt as if you were sitting in an enchanted forest underneath vines and pretty winding branches.

I won tickets to the Sex and the City bus tour a few weeks ago at a trivia night. My friend Gabby and I finally redeemed out vouchers and went on the tour around Manhattan. We were the only locals on the bus but thoroughly enjoyed the trip around the city. We stopped at Buddakan where Carrie and Big had their wedding rehearsal dinner in the Sex and the City Movie. We stopped in the West Village for some Magnolia’s cupcakes and shopping at Michael Kors and Marc Jacobs. One of our final stops was at Aiden’s bar “Scout” where we cooled off and enjoyed cosmos.

This past week Courtney and I made dinner reservations at Lady Gaga’s parent’s restaurant Joanne Trattoria. Of course I wanted to visit this restaurant because of it’s relation to Gaga but the chef, Art Smith, is the former personal chef to Oprah and Jeb Bush.

We walked into the restaurant and Lady Gaga’s mom, Cynthia, was sitting at the front bar. It’s pretty scary how much they look alike except her mom was wearing more than Gaga’s typical leotard and heels. As I walked up to the hostess, I realized it was Gaga’s younger sister, Natali. She showed us to our table and after we finished the wonderful Italian meal, Cynthia came over to chat with us for a bit. She told me I looked fabulous and that she wanted my dress. What a compliment from the Queen of Pop’s mother! I just found out Gaga was at the restaurant this past Saturday- looks like I just missed her!

I was lucky enough to get 15 of my NYC friends together for my going away brunch. Courtney hosted the event and we held it at one of my favorite Upper West Side spots, Calle Ocho inside the Excelsior Hotel. Their Cuban inspired dishes and unlimited sangria bar are only a few of the reasons I chose this location. It was so fun to get dressed up and spend the day with close friends. I feel so blessed to have met so many wonderful people while living here!

I topped off the weekend with some shopping in Soho and lunch at Tacombi. I’m proclaiming this as the best taco spot in the whole city. They make the tacos in an old VW van and they had the best grilled corn straight off the cob. Georgetown Cupcakes, made famous on the TLC show “DC Cupcakes,” just opened a shop in Soho so of course we stopped by for some peanut butter cupcakes.

My mom arrives into NYC today and we start packing this week. Looking forward to visiting Hoboken today for Pretty Little Liars trivia night! What a perfect way to start off my final week in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

