I Have Found That If You Love Life, Life Will Love You Back

As most of you know, I’m not exactly the most avid sports fan but when I had the chance to root on my home team, I jumped at it. A few weeks ago I went to a Yankees game when the Tampa Bay Rays were in town. Although it ended up raining about 75% of the game, we had a great time cheering on the team and enjoying some of the finest food Yankee Stadium had to offer.

There was a food stand called “fried dough.” It consisted of every type of food thrown into a deep fryer and coming out with an additional 1000 calories added. We saw one guy ordering a cheeseburger that was served in between two glazed doughnuts! I decided to stick with my (somewhat) lower calorie meal of a hot dog and garlic fries…

Once a book has hit #1 on the New York Times Bestseller List or when friends can’t stop talking about a certain story is when I decide to pick up the book. I read the Twilight series, the three Hunger Games books, and recently decided to test out Fifty Shades of Grey. I’ve heard many “interesting” things about it so I thought I would see what all the hype was about. Since this is easily an “R” rated story, this is no place for a book review but I thoroughly enjoyed all three books and might have fallen in love with the main character Christian Grey…

Last week, I attended my first book club meeting. Some friends were gathering to discuss the book so I decided it would make for a fun Friday night. We sat around giggling about the storyline, sharing our opinion on the book, and drinking wine. Not to mention, the view from the apartment where we were was absolutely breathtaking.

I always love when I have a celebrity sighting in the city. I was at a bar with friends the other night and recognized the guy walking in. It was one of those instances where the person’s face was familiar but I just couldn’t place him. Courtney recognized him as a doctor on Criminal Minds and after some Googling, we realized it was Matthew Grey Gubler from 500 Days of Summer. I dragged Courtney over to say hi as my friends back at the table watched us and laughed. Although it was a brief conversation, I never give up the chance to speak to a celebrity.

Last weekend hosted the most beautiful weather we’ve had all year. I would finally consider winter to be completely gone and summer making its way in. A few girlfriends and I went out to Central Park for an afternoon of laying on blankets under the sun, listening to Frank Sinatra, and snacking on berries and wine. It was one of the most relaxing afternoons I’ve had in a while.

Over the last few years, I’ve really learned to appreciate the styling and quality of food. I’ve always been a big Food Network fan and love getting the chance to eat at the various chef’s restaurants around the city.

On Sunday, I went with Courtney and Flo to Chris Santos’ restaurant Stanton Social on the Lower East Side for brunch. All of the dishes are served as tapas and you order a few plates to share at the table. We agreed that our favorite dish was the huevos rancheros mini tacos. The mixture of bacon, eggs, avocado, and various spices was absolutely delicious. We also enjoyed the “upscale” chicken taquitos, potato latkes, brie and apple quesadilla, and French onion soup dumplings.

Leave a Reply

