Lifestyles of the Rich and the Famous

Since it’s finally started feeling like spring I’ve been spending more time outside and exploring. On a Sunday afternoon I decided to stroll over to the Upper East Side and check out the Whitney Museum of American Art. Although I’ve never been well educated when it comes to art, I do enjoy taking time to appreciate the beautiful pieces that people work so hard to create.

Cinco de Mayo is one of my favorite festive “holidays” to spend with friends. The holiday always occurs when the weather is just beginning to really warm up. On the day before Cinco, some friends hosted a “Cuatro de Mayo” party at their apartment. I was pretty excited about the margarita cake I made. We spent most of the night on the rooftop enjoying the cool weather. On Cinco de Mayo a group of my friends got together at the Bohemian Hall & Beer Garden in Queens where we spent time playing cards and enjoying another sunny day.

This past weekend Christen invited me out to her family’s house in The Hamptons! The house we stayed in was absolutely beautiful. It was even featured in a New York interior design magazine. Each room of the house was decorated with various colors and designs. The back porch and rectangular-shaped pool was easily my favorite part of the house.

On Saturday afternoon we went to East Hampton and had lunch at quaint little place called Cittanuova. The luxury retail of this area was unbelievable. Of course we had to do a little shopping before lunch. Our next stop was the picturesque Wolffer Estate Vineyard where we spent the afternoon underneath a cloudless sky tasting various wines and cheeses. It was definitely a step away from my usual afternoon in the city!

That night Christen and I had dinner at a trendy Southampton hotspot Redbar. We both had a Filet Mignon and split a chocolate mousse for dessert. After a long day, we decided to spend the evening in the pool. I never have the chance to go swimming in the city so I took full advantage of having a heated pool in the backyard.

On Sunday we had Mother’s Day brunch at a lovely spot called Seasons of Southampton. We spent the entire afternoon at the beach which ended up being completely empty despite the perfect weather. We saw Calvin Klein’s 15,000 square foot house being built right on the beach. We topped off the wonderful day back at the pool with some more white wine. I am so thankful to Christen and her family for allowing me visit for the weekend.

“And so with the sunshine and the great bursts of leaves growing on the trees, just as things grow in fast movies, I had that familiar conviction that life was beginning over again with the summer.”

Leave a Reply

