Spring Fever

As a girl from the south, we don’t believe that true BBQ can be found outside of our region. After dinner at Dinosaur Bar-B-Que in Harlem last week, I have to disagree with that statement. This is one of the most famous spots for ribs and fixins’ in the tri-state area. Ribs, cornbread, salted potatoes…and completely worth the hour and a half wait! Before dinner, Courtney and I explored Williamsburg, Brooklyn. It’s a neat part of the city- full of vintage shops, flea markets, and eclectic little stores. The Belgian waffle truck also happened to be in the area that day.

I’ve been a huge Gossip Girl fan since the show premiered in 2007. This show is one of the reasons I truly fell in love with the city. My apartment is only two blocks from the Empire Hotel where the character Chuck Bass lives on the show. They film at the hotel quite often but you never know when the actors are actually going to be on set. This week I was out in the area and decided to stop by the hotel to see if they were filming. With my luck, Leighton Meester (Blair Waldorf) and Ed Westwick (Chuck Bass) were heading to set right when I walked by. Leighton was in a hurry but Ed stopped to take a picture with me. Too bad he didn’t invite me to the Empire for drinks in his penthouse!

Since spring decided to arrive early this year, the flowers have been blooming like crazy! One day everything was dead and the next there were tiny blooms on every branch. Since we don’t have cherry blossoms in the city, I ventured to the Brooklyn Botanic Gardens with Isobel to see their collection of cherry blossoms and exotic plants. Everything was in full bloom and so picturesque. The quaint gardens and Japanese inspired decor made you feel like you took a step out of the city and into the zen gardens of Asia.

We finished off the afternoon with lunch in Little Italy and a stop at Ferrara’s for chocolate covered cannolis. To complete my celebrity-filled week, I ran into Cynthia Nixon (Miranda) from Sex & the City on the street corner!

Leave a Reply

