Farewell Winter Nights

Going to concerts has all been one of my most memorable activities growing up. Seeing your favorite bands play live is one of the most thrilling experiences I can think of. I was lucky to see two of my favorite bands play this month. I saw my all time favorite band Jack’s Mannequin play at Irving Plaza with my roommate Laura. Although I’ve seen them play about ten times now, I was as excited as if I were seeing them for the first time. Then last Friday, my friend Chris and I went to see Sleigh Bells at Terminal 5. They played their noisy, electronic, dance tracks and it was one of the craziest live shows I’ve ever seen!

My friend Emily who I worked with at the UCF Arena came up to NYC to play at Rockwood Music Hall. She’s an extremely talented musician and it was so cool seeing her perform live. She’s on her way to stardom!

Since her show was on the Lower East Side, my friend Flo and I decided to explore that side of town afterwards. I created a “NYC Bucket List” with things I want to do while I’m here. I always hear of great places to eat and visit yet always seem to forget about them when the moment arises. One place I’ve wanted to visit was Il Laboratorio del Gelato. It’s a gelato factory and shop that has over 250 flavors. After spending 15 minutes taste testing and deciding, I chose cream cheese and salted caramel gelato. It was one of those life changing desserts, the gelato was so rich and creamy. I’m already looking forward to going back and trying out new flavors!

This past weekend, Courtney and I decided to cross some things off my bucket list. I had heard of this pie place in Dumbo, Brooklyn called Bubby’s. We ventured down there on Saturday afternoon. The weather has been so beautiful. It’s been chilly but the sun has been shining and there has hardly been a cloud in the sky. We walked around the Brooklyn waterfront, discovered Jane’s Carousel near the harbor, and finished the afternoon at Bubby’s indulging in some peanut butter and key lime pie. What a perfect Saturday!

On Saturday night, Lauren and I went on a snow tubing adventure in New Jersey. We bought a deal through Living Social and took a bus from the city out to the snowy slopes. We spent the evening snow tubing, drinking hot chocolate, and playing in the snow. Our fun night ended with a midnight buffet at a nearby pub.

To top off the holiday weekend, we took the ferry over to Staten Island for the afternoon. The tourism video in the ferry station made it look much more appealing than it really was. We ate lunch at a little pub called Steiny’s and walked around the town of St. George. After about two hours on the island, we decided to take the ferry back to Manhattan. We stopped in the financial district to see the new Freedom Tower and do some shopping at Century 21. Courtney and I finished off the day with something sweet- Toasted Marshmallow Milkshakes at Stand4 in Union Square!

I have so much to look forward to in the next month! I’m off to Florida next week to begin my 24th birthday celebrations. Cannot wait to see my family, spend time on the beach, BBQ in the backyard, and celebrate turning another year older.

Leave a Reply

