Brunch, Blue Ivy, and Bridal Couture

Hard to believe but we’ve only seen snow once this winter. By this time last year, the highs were barely hitting 20 degrees and there was about 3 feet of snow covering the frozen streets. I’m certainly not complaining about the mild winter and an early spring would be a real treat for us northerners!

One of the best things about the colder temperatures is cozying up in restaurants for brunch on Sunday mornings. Brunch up here is more than a meal; it’s a time for friends to get together and sip mimosas before noon and to indulge in some syrupy goodness. I had the most delicious vanilla bean French toast smothered in caramelized bananas with a blood orange mimosa at The Smith in the East Village with my friend Isobel.

A few weeks ago, I received an invite to Jay-Z’s exclusive 40/40 Club re-opening party! I was lucky enough to go with a few of my friends and indulge in a night with the rich and famous. We spent the evening sipping champagne at the gold-encrusted bar, tasting fancy pastries, and watching Jay-Z mingle with his fellow celebrity friends. I was excited to meet Shallon from MTV’s “Downtown Girls”- a show my friends and I used to watch back in college. What a fabulous night of dressing up and dancing!

Even the middle of winter doesn’t stop my Florida friends from coming up for a visit. My friend Allie came to visit recently and we had a great weekend together. Spent Friday night at a cozy little Italian place on the Upper East Side where we had pineapple cosmos, pasta, and were serenaded by the best of Sinatra.

On Saturday, despite the freezing temperatures and several inches of snow that fell overnight, we wandered the slushy streets and saw the Broadway show Memphis that evening. To bid Allie farewell on Sunday morning, we had lunch at 40 Carrots inside of Bloomingdale’s, where they serve the most amazing frozen yogurt with your meal.

One of my best friends here, Isobel, met the owner of an Italian restaurant in Chelsea recently. The owner invited her and her girlfriends to a complimentary dinner on a Wednesday night. We wined and dined till almost midnight. White wine, ham and cheese croquettes with truffle oil, ravioli, arugula salad, and cannolis only start to cover some of the delicious things we ate that evening.

One of my favorite places for lunch is Peanut Butter and Co. It’s a cute little Greenwich Village spot that is straight out of the 1950’s. Fancy peanut butter sandwiches with toppings such as marshmallow fluff, bacon, and bananas. It’s right around the corner from Washington Square Park. Since it’s been unseasonably warm, Courtney and I spent the afternoon wandering the park and listening to the most amazing piano player I have ever heard. Please tell me this man went to Julliard or is a part of a famous orchestra. He brought his baby grand piano to the park…still wondering how he got it there.

My friend Dana was lucky enough to get two tickets to the Martha Stewart wedding expo at The New York Palace Hotel. Although neither of us are engaged, we took advantage of the cake tastings, free gifts, and Kleinfeld’s wedding dress fashion show. I’m dreaming of the day when I can indulge in a 5 tier cake and wear an over-the-top white dress down the aisle…

Leave a Reply

