So Long Sweet Summer

I’ve officially survived every season in NYC. Went through the brutal winter, watched the spring flowers blossom, soaked up the sun in the summertime and am welcoming my second autumn with open arms. The air has turned crisp and leaves are in their first stage of changing colors.

Back in August, my mom came up for a visit. She flew up on a Friday night but little did she know that a hurricane was approaching the north. We spent the stormy weekend indoors baking, playing Scrabble, and taking long walks on the Hudson in between the wind and rain. I thought moving out of Florida would keep me from having to deal with hurricanes but I sure was wrong!

During my mom’s visit to the Big Apple, we spent time enjoying the last few weeks of summer. Since we both love Frank Sinatra, I surprised her with tickets to a Sinatra show. We walked the High Line, wandered Chelsea Market, visited Mario Batali’s new Italian market, Eataly, and did plenty of shopping.

Going to Broadway shows had become one of my favorite things to do since moving here. We went to see Catch Me If You Can right before the show closed. Since it’s always been one of my favorite movies, I figured the show would be great, and I was right!

We ended off a fantastic week with a sky ride to Roosevelt Island, cupcakes at Sprinkles, and a bike ride through Central Park. What a great way to end the summer and I loved having my mom here to share the memories with me.

One of my favorite nights of the year is Fashion’s Night Out. All of the stores in the city stay open extra late, offer free champagne and desserts, give out gift bags, and host celebrity appearances. This year, I spent the first part of my night at Tiffany & Co. on Fifth Ave indulging on “diamond encrusted” desserts and watching a performance by Leighton Meester (Blair from Gossip Girl). The city had such an amazing vibe that night- people flooding the streets and music blaring from every store. This will always be one of my favorite nights of the year!

Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week took place in September only steps away from my apartment at Lincoln Center. The whole area is full of fabulous fashion, celebrities, paparazzi, and designers. I decided to celebrate Fashion Week by going to visit Nicola Formichetti’s pop-up shop. He is Lady Gaga’s creative director, stylist, and close friend. He is the one responsible for all of her crazy outfits. The shop was unlike anything I’ve ever experienced- I felt like I was walking into a disco ball complete with feathers, leather, and loud music. It was completely brilliant.

I’ve been spending a lot of time with my friends from back home that also live in NYC. I feel so lucky to have so many of them with me in the big city. I’ve loved all of the great memories I’ve made with them this summer. I’m so grateful for all of my old friends but also for all of the new friends I’ve met too!

I started off the month of October by spending Columbus Day weekend in New Jersey with Alyssa. I went to visit her at her college and we spent a day at Six Flags riding rollercoasters and at their annual Halloween festival Fright Fest. On Sunday afternoon, we went out to a farm to pick apples and pumpkins. Since going to upstate New York last year to pick pumpkins, this has become one of my favorite yearly traditions.

One of the things I love most about living in New York City is finding out about random activities happening right down the street. My favorite band, Jack’s Mannequin, released a new album a few weeks ago. I found out they were doing an interview at the Apple Store in Soho to celebrate the album release. The front man, Andrew McMahon, is one of my musical heroes. The first concert I ever worked as a freshman in college was Jack’s Mannequin so they have a special place in my heart.

As most of you know, I landed my dream job in September. After five long years of being the intern, countless part time jobs and hundreds of resumes sent out, Sony Music came knocking at my door. I was offered a job in the marketing department at RCA Records. I feel so lucky to be working at one of the largest record labels in the world.

I got to go to my first concert last week as a “label employee.” I helped present the band Hot Chelle Rae with a platinum sales plaque. I had the opportunity to watch them perform on stage along with The Script- even got to bring some of my friends along to the show! I’m so excited to be a part of an amazing company and I look forward to what’s to come.

Leave a Reply

