Cheers To One Year

This has been one of the craziest weeks since I’ve moved to NYC. On Tuesday afternoon, I was sitting in my room when I felt my bed begin to shake. All of a sudden, pictures on my walls started to move and it felt like the entire apartment began to tremble. I was on the phone with my friend Laura (who lives about 50 blocks away) and she claimed that her entire apartment was shaking too. It only took us a few seconds to realize what was going on..EARTHQUAKE! I didn’t even think earthquakes could happen on the east coast!

After the excitement of the earthquake, we were warned that Hurricane Irene was making her way to the North. We are now under a “State of Emergency” and a large part of the city has to evacuate this weekend. Heading out tomorrow to stock up on food and water. I leave Florida yet all of the crazy weather follows me…

A few weeks ago my friend Melinda came from DC to visit Courtney and I in the city. We met Melinda when we went to visit our friend Steven in DC a few months ago. We ended up becoming quick friends and invited her to come stay with us for a weekend!

Her first afternoon here, we made our way over to The Met to see the Alexander McQueen “Savage Beauty” exhibit. We waited in line for close to 2 hours but it was totally worth it. It was unlike any exhibit I had ever seen. Every item of clothing was a piece of artwork. The dim lighting and eerie music really set the fantastic atmosphere for the exhibit. By the time the exhibit closed in August, close to 600,000 people had seen McQueen’s beautiful creations.

“There is no way back for me now. I am going to take you on journeys you’ve never dreamed were possible.” -Alexander McQueen

Despite the weekend being the hottest temperatures the city has seen in 20 years, we made the most out of Melinda’s visit. Since it was Restaurant Week, we took full advantage of eating at a fabulous five star restaurant. Ever since I fell in love with Gossip Girl a few years ago, I’ve wanted to eat at Butter, just like Blair Waldorf. I also found out the executive chef at the restaurant is Alex Guarnaschelli, one of the judges from the Food Network show “Chopped.” We had a fantastic three course meal complete with a bottle of white wine. Our dinner lasted well past midnight and it was one of those meals I will never forget.

We spent the next day walking around the Lower East Side, exploring little boutiques, indulging in gelato, and having lunch at a fantastic Greek restaurant that made you feel like you were truly dining on a Greek island. To conclude our fabulous weekend, we had Sunday brunch on the rooftop of 230 Fifth. It’s a popular celebrity hotspot but I think we fit in just perfectly.

I’ve become involved with the NYC Pi Phi Alumni Club up here. I found that it’s a great way to meet girls from all over the country and go on some fun outings! Since I hadn’t been to the beach all summer, except when I was home in Florida, I decided to go on the day trip to Fire Island. It took us 2 hours to get there..train, bus ride, and ferry to the island. Nothing like Florida where we would drive 15 minutes and be on the sand! The island was beautiful though. Reminded me of something out of a Nicholas Spark’s novel. I was walking around the island and a deer just appeared in front of me on the path. Quaint little beach houses were scattered all over the island, it looked like a postcard.

Steven popped into the city two weeks ago! I only got to see him briefly so we spent our time together exploring the High Line, drinking apple pie milkshakes from the milk bar at Chelsea Market, and at my favorite bar in the East Village, Angels & Kings. It’s always so fun to have my old friends from home come to visit.

That week, Alyssa also came to visit me for an evening. It was her friend’s birthday and they took a limo into the city so of course they invited me to tag along for a fun night out!

I made a quick trip to the West Village one afternoon with some friends to see Carrie Bradshaw’s stoop from Sex & the City! The apartment is now a private residence but it’s one of the hottest tourist attractions in the city..well for females at least!

Last Thursday night was a dream come true for me. After being a fan of Lady Gaga for almost 4 years now, I finally had the chance to meet her…all thanks to MTV! I was selected to be featured on another Lady Gaga MTV special. After waiting in line for an hour with 100 other people dressed as Gaga, they finally let us into the old TRL studio.

Within a few minutes, Gaga herself appeared behind shimmering gold curtains. She looked absolutely stunning, obnoxiously large hat and all. This MTV special was to premiere Gaga’s new music video for her song “Yoü And I.” While the video premiered on MTV, we watched Gaga sing and dance to the song, only a few feet away. She was then interviewed by MTV’s Sway for the next half hour before she departed for the night. Everything about being in her presence seemed surreal and it was a truly magical night.


On August 15, I celebrated my one year anniversary with New York City. It has been one of the most incredible years of my life. I’ve made new friends, adjusted to city life, spent time traveling around the north, and made some memories that will last a lifetime.

Cheers to one year and many more to come!

Leave a Reply

