I’ve Got the World on a String

Happy 2011! It’s hard to believe another year has gone by. I know I say this every year but 2010 really flew by. It was a monumental year in my life. I was so lucky to graduate from UCF (in 4 years), travel to Greece and Turkey, and live my dream by moving to New York City. I have high hopes for 2011 and believe it’s going to be an amazing year for me.

I just spent a wonderful 2 weeks back home with my family and friends for the holidays. Going home to 50 degree weather was a treat! While everyone complained about how cold it was, I took advantage of wearing shorts and no coat. On my first night in town, we had a belated 21st birthday celebration for my brother Tyler. We went to a Brazilian steakhouse in Tampa and it sure was a fabulous meal. The next week was followed by plenty of Christmas festivities- looking at Christmas lights, baking with my mom (and eating WAY too many cookies), and my annual Christmas party. I’m so happy I got to spend time with all of my friends back home.

I had a wonderful Christmas with my family. It was a beautiful 70 degree Christmas day, as usual. Although it was warm, we sat around the fireplace and pretended as if we were somewhere much colder. I was lucky I missed the blizzard in NYC. They said it was the fifth largest snowfall in the city’s history. Two days after Christmas, the temperatures in Florida got close to 80 degrees so needless to say, I spend the next few days at Clearwater Beach. I spent my last day of 2010 soaking up the sun with friends. I can’t complain one bit except for my bright red sunburn. I refuse to use sunscreen in the winter but this time I finally learned my lesson!

One of my favorite things to do back home is visit the Sponge Docks in Tarpon Springs. I’ve been going there since I was a kid and it reminds me of my trip to Greece. I had a delicious Greek salad and baklava. The gift shops are filled with sponges, seashells, and tacky Florida souvenirs. There’s just something so comforting about this place that reminds me of home.

I spent New Year’s Eve with two of my best friends, Kate and Alyse. On New Year’s Day we had our traditional meal of pork and sauerkraut. Every holiday is a reason for a big meal in my house. After a great time back home, it was time for me to return to the snowy north. I was greeted by snow showers and plenty of ice. It was my first real snow of the season and I must say, I was pretty excited. Although it’s really cold, the huge snowflakes and icicles have turned the city into a winter wonderland. I was also looking forward to coming back to the city because Courtney now lives here! I’m so happy to have one of my best friends living here. New York City sure is the place to be.

I’ve had a great start to the new year and can’t wait to see what 2011 holds…

“Life is about not knowing, having to change, taking the moment and making the best of it, without knowing what’s going to happen next.”

Leave a Reply

