This Peppermint Winter is So Sugar Sweet

Today was New York City’s first snowfall of the season. I’ve come to the conclusion that the “flurries” I saw a few weeks ago might have just been sleet so today was the official start of winter. My Florida body isn’t handling winter too well. The highs have been in the 30’s but it has felt more like below zero to me. I’m learning that the radiators make funny noises but if you want to stay warm, you just have to deal with them. It’s going to be a long winter…

Two weeks ago my friend Alissa from college came up to visit me! We kicked off the girl’s weekend with some shopping in Soho. There was a Victoria’s Secret display on the street showing off all of the wings from past fashion shows. The wings were absolutely gorgeous in person! We found the Kardashian’s new Dash store and decided after about 5 minutes that we couldn’t afford anything (not even the $8 water bottles) so we were satisfied with window shopping from then on. That night I took Alissa and her friend George to one of my favorite restaurants in the city, Cafeteria. On Sunday, we went to see the Rockette’s “Radio City Christmas Spectacular” at Radio City Music Hall. With my employee discount, I was able to score us 6th row seats. What a fantastic show and perfect end to a great weekend!

The week after Thanksgiving Alyssa and I went to the Rockefeller Tree Lighting. It has always been a holiday tradition to watch it on TV so I thought it would be cool to see the ceremony in person this year. It ended up being warm and crowded and quite a mess! But in the end, we were front and center to see the tree being lit up. We also got to hear some wonderful Christmas carols from Mariah Carey, Josh Groban, Susan Boyle, and Jessica Simpson. It is said that the tree lighting is the official start to the holiday season! If you ever get the chance, visit New York during the Christmas season- everything is so magical this time of year.

It’s hard to believe 2010 is coming to close. What an amazing year it has been! I have so much to look forward to in 2011. My brother, Tyler, turned 21 a few days ago- hard to believe he’s getting so old. And on my final note of the night, I have some great news. One of my best friends since elementary school, Courtney, is moving to NYC in January to start a new job at an advertising agency! We have talked about being together New York and it is all finally coming together.

Happy Holidays to all of my friends and family. Thank you for all of your never ending love and support- I’m the luckiest girl in the world!

Leave a Reply

