If You Only Get One Great Love, New York May Just Be Mine

Yesterday we had our first sign of winter- snow flurries! I was on my way to work when I could see the small flakes landing on my jacket. It only lasted a mere five minutes before turning into sleet but still, I was quite excited. I’m looking forward to some real snow in the next few months. I keep getting warned that after a few days of snow, I’ll be tired of it and wishing for warm weather and sunshine. The leaves have all started to change and Central Park is absolutely beautiful this time of the year! I love having REAL seasons!

Two weeks ago, I had the chance to meet two of the ladies from The Housewives of New York. They were filming an episode of their show at a costume shop in the city. My friend Alyssa’s mom owns the store and invited us to come see the taping. She personally introduced us to Jill Zarin and LuAnn de Lesseps. We got to talk to LuAnn for a few minutes and she started asking us about our internships at Fuse. She asked me for my business card and told me she wanted to send her music video to us. Then she went on to sing a line from her hit single “Money Can’t Buy You Class.” Boy, was that entertaining…

Halloween in the city was so different than anything I’ve ever experienced. All of the restaurants and bars started decorating for Halloween on October 1. One of my favorite things about fall is carving pumpkins. I carved a haunted house into a pumpkin and I’m thinking of becoming a professional pumpkin carver! On Halloween night, I dressed up as Lady Gaga from the “Telephone” music video and my roommate Jaclyn was Carrie Bradshaw from Sex & the City. I worked really hard putting my costume together and getting the coke cans to stay in my hair all night. I went out with a bunch of friends and we ended up having a blast! We spent our night at a rooftop party in the West Village (even though it was in the 40’s outside). My “best costume award” went to my friend Aaron who dressed up as a tree that got “TPed.” The one question I never got answered though was where do kids go trick or treating in the city?

I’ve been trying to take advantage of the beautiful weather and explore before it starts snowing! Last weekend I went to The Met for the first time. What a gorgeous museum. I went with another friend named Jaclyn and we spent 3 hours in the museum walking around. We then spent the rest of the afternoon walking around Madison Avenue. We went into the Louboutin store and I must say, I was in shoe heaven. Of course we ended up in Henri Bendel’s, one of my favorite NYC accessories stores.

Last night, I had the opportunity to go to a free Katy Perry concert at Roseland Ballroom. AT&T put on a free concert to promote one of their new phones and they gave out a couple thousand passes to fans. She sang all of her big hits along with most of the songs off her new album “Teenage Dream.” Katy put on an unbelievable live show and her costumes were pretty amazing too.

This week I’ve seen snow flurries, the tree go up at Macy’s, and the window displays in progress. We all know what that means…Christmas is coming!

Leave a Reply

