New York is My Kind of Town

I’ve officially been living in the Big Apple for 44 days now. I can’t believe how much has happened in these last few weeks. I have an amazing apartment on the Upper West Side right behind Lincoln Center. Fashion Week was steps away from my apartment this year so I felt like I was a part of the action. During my first week of living in NYC, Courtney was in town for a few days visiting. Our first night out ended up being pretty eventful- we got to meet the cast of Camp Rock 2 and Joe Jonas at their movie after party at the Empire Hotel! If you know me, you know I love Joe Jonas so this was an extremely exciting night, although Courtney wasn’t nearly as excited as I was.

I decided meeting celebrities has officially become a new hobby. On my second week in the city, Katy Perry was performing at the Today Show so we woke up at 5am and went down to see her perform. It was absolute madness down there! Afterwards, we found out Gossip Girl was taping at Columbia University. We ended up being the only girls at the set so we were lucky enough to meet Leighton Meester (Blair), Ed Westwick (Chuck), and Blake Lively (Serena). This was another huge day for me since I’ve been a Gossip Girl fan for the last few years!

I feel lucky to have some amazing friends up here in the city with me! Allyson and her friend Ashley are up in here until December doing a study abroad program with Kent State. I met the Pi Phi Alumni Group for a wine tasting party the other night. I also got to watch our Knights football game with the NYC UCF Alumni Club. It’s been great seeing familiar faces from back home but also meeting lots of new people. My brother Tyler and his girlfriend Mariah came to stay with me a few weeks ago. This was Mariah’s first visit to New York so we got a chance to do all of the “touristy” things- Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, Little Italy, Central Park, Empire State Building deck at night, Pinkberry and of course we stopped by the huge Forever 21 in Times Square. We also went to Food Network Chef Bobby Flay’s restaurant Mesa Grill. As you can imagine, the food was amazing (and cost and arm and a leg). It was really great having them visit!

Two weeks ago was Fashion’s Night Out. It’s the city-wide shopping event that kicks off Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week. Over 1100 stores stay open till 11pm and offer special discounts, free food and drinks, and celebrity appearances. I went out with my roommate Jaclyn and her friend Vanessa to see who we could spot. We waited in line at Piperlime in Soho to meet Rachel Zoe but after waiting in line for over an hour, we were satisfied with a glimpse of Rachel walking into the store. As we left the store, Karl Lagerfeld (creative director of Chanel) got out of his car and walked right into the Chanel store. It was insane being so close to such a huge fashion icon!

I’ve saved the best news for last. The reason I moved to New York City was to pursue my career in the music industry. I felt that this was the next step on my journey and that big things were in store for me here. Last week, I had the opportunity to go the Fuse TV studios to watch a new show being filmed. Mark Hoppus of Blink-182 was filming his new show called “A Different Spin.” I had the chance to see the Neon Trees perform and watch live interviews with John Mayer and Linkin Park.

I’ve dreamed of working for Fuse for years now. A few days later, I was offered an internship with them! I will now be working for Fuse and Madison Square Garden. This was my dream and it’s finally coming true! I will be spending most of my time at Fuse working in the Programming Department- assisting with scheduling TV shows, deciding what music videos make it on air, and brainstorming ideas for new shows. I will also be working in the Talent Relations Department with all of the artists and bands that come into the Fuse studio to film. This is an amazing opportunity and I can’t wait to start!

I’ll keep you updated on my journey in the big city! Off to sleep in the city that never sleeps…

Leave a Reply

